Niagara University – Gallagher Center
The 2,400-seat John J. “Taps” Gallagher Center has been the home for the school’s men’s basketball program since Nov. 30, 1949, the women’s since its inaugural season of 1974-75 and the volleyball team since its first season in 1977.
In the summer of 1998, the Gallagher Center under went a $1.3 million renovation that included a new floor, bleachers and decor. In 1995, the Gallagher Center also received improved lighting.
On the outside of the Gallagher Center, fans are welcomed by the Niagara Hall of Fame which highlights historical moments in the Niagara athletics, as well as plaques depicting Purple Eagles who have been inducted into the Niagara Hall of Fame.
Sports Played Wrestling, Basketball, Volleyball
Seating Capacity: 2400
First Aid Rooms
DESCRIPTION: At the heart of Niagara University, the "Taps" Gallagher Center boasts seating for 2,400 and is named after former Purple Eagles men’s basketball coach John J. Gallagher. Niagara University's on-campus facility has been the home court for the school's men's basketball programs since Nov. 30, 1949, and is currently also the home to several athletic programs including the women’s basketball and volleyball teams. Recent renovations have been made to improve the court and seating and revamp the general décor of the facility. Just outside of the gymnasium is the Niagara University Athletics Hall of Fame, which displays memorabilia from past athletic accomplishments as well as plaques of those who were inducted into the Hall of Fame.