- Eat & Drink
Buffalo’s landscape and skyline read like a textbook from an architectural master class. Study the clean lines of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Martin House, unique in his body of work. Trace the early origins of skyscraper design at Louis Sullivan’s Guaranty Building. Marvel at the steeply pitched rooflines of H.H. Richardson’s Romanesque Richardson Olmsted Campus. Observe the graceful curves of Eliel and Eero Saarinen’s Kleinhans Music Hall. Visit the cradle of the American Arts & Crafts movement at Elbert Hubbard’s Roycroft Campus. And enjoy the meticulously planned landscaping of Frederick Law Olmsted’s parks and parkways.
While many cities’ early 20th-century masterworks have been lost to time, Buffalo’s have been lovingly maintained and restored. In
all, you’ll find seven Frank Lloyd Wright landmarks in our region, including the exquisitely sited Graycliff. You’ll walk down streets graced by buildings from great designers like Richard Upjohn, Stanford White, Lord & Burnham and Charles Atwood. And you’ll immerse yourself in the Gilded Age grandeur of Delaware Avenue’s “Millionaire’s Row.”
For a more intimate examination of our architectural treasures, treat yourself to a luxurious stay at Hubbard’s Roycroft Inn or the Hotel @ The Lafayette, designed by America’s first female professional architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune. Even the monolithic grain elevators along the Buffalo River have structural significance, having influenced modern architectural sensibilities.
Few cities possess the kind of architectural resume Buffalo maintains. See for yourself what The New York Times called “a textbook for a course in modern American buildings.” Click here for a guide to some of the Queen City’s most iconic landmarks and immerse yourself in our vast museum of late 19th century and early 20th century architectural treasures. Or plan an entire architecture themed trip with our itinerary.
[Buffalo and Erie County attractions and businesses have begun a gradual reopening process. In accordance with state and local guidelines, they are putting into place increased precautions and safeguards to protect their guests. Here’s a list of all organizations that have signed our Buffalo Cares! Stay Safe pledge. For the most current information on status, hours and safety measures being taken, please check individual websites or social channels.]Watch the video
This Tudor style apartment building was actually a house of many mansions: each arm of the x-shaped plan contained two-story apartments as spacious and well-appointed as any freestanding home. Darwin R. Martin (whose father had built the Darwin D. Martin House by Frank Lloyd Wright) was behind this project, and his luxury penthouse occupied the top floors. The grand apartments have since been split into single-floor units that are now sold rather than rented. – Designed by Bley & Lymon in 1929[post_slug] => 800-west-ferry [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed by architect E. B. Green with William Sydney Wicks between 1900-1905, this temple for the arts evokes the Erectheum on the Acropolis in Athens. A marble and glass wing was added to the original building in 1962, designed by Buffalonian Gordon Bunshaft.
The Albright-Knox Art Gallery has temporarily closed its Elmwood Avenue campus to begin the construction phase of its AK360 Campus Development and Expansion Project. As part of the project, the museum will construct a signature new building on the north side of its campus and renovate its current facilities.
Albright-Knox Northland, a new project space at 612 Northland Avenue in Buffalo, will open on January 17, 2020. The new Buffalo AKG Art Museum is expected to open in Spring 2022 on the Elmwood Avenue campus.
The museum’s new Art Truck, a mobile center for hands-on artmaking, brings art activities, classes, and workshops for individuals of all ages, backgrounds, and levels of ability into the communities of Western New York. To view upcoming Art Truck events, visit https://www.albrightknox.org/community/art-truck
The Birge Mansion was built in 1897 for George Birge, the founder of the Pierce-Arrow Motor Car Company. The Georgian style mansion was modeled on the lines of a villa Birge had seen on the Riviera and was designed by the Boston architectural firm of Little and Browne. Birge lived in the house until his death in 1918. The building’s first nonresidential use was as the Sisters of Divine Child Convent from 1938 through 1957, followed by a nearly 20 year stint as an Elks Club. It fell into serious disrepair in the mid 1970s, becoming a flop house and a party site for drunks and junkies and the scene of several small fires. Most recently it has been acquired by the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and is undergoing renovations. When complete it will house the BPO’s offices and BPO Women’s Committee.
George Birge is most famous for co-creating the Pierce-Arrow Motor Car Company. National popularity of the company grew after a win in a cross-country race in 1908. Birge is also known for operating the wallpaper company M.H. Birge & Sons with this father and brother. The company was known for using a 12 color process of wallpaper production. Lastly, Birge was also a director and executive committee member of the 1901 Pan-American Exposition[post_slug] => birge-mansion [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Blue Sky Mausoleum is located in Forest Lawn Cemetery, Buffalo, New York – the cemetery for which it was designed. This venerable yet vital organization owns a distinctive place in American history and has long been regarded as a visionary leader among its peers.[post_slug] => blue-sky-mausoleum [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Brisbane Building was built in 1895 by James Brisbane and James Mooney and was central to some of the greatest years in the City’s history. Traditionally, it has been the home of lawyers and others who profit from its proximity to the courts, City Hall, Erie County offices, bank offices and other important functions. It was the long time home of the Kleinhan’s Company. Also, Brisbane was one of Woolworth’s first stores, the success of which was a fundamental building block for the philanthropy and civic involvement of Buffalo’s Knox family, the original owners of the Buffalo Sabres. Many tenancies have spanned generations. The Gannon law firm has maintained continuous occupancy since 1930. Stanley Hunt, Hunt Real Estate’s founder in 1911, ran his business there continuously for 47 years, until buying the nearby Hurst Building in 1960.[post_slug] => brisbane-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The conservatory and botanical gardens were created from the visions of extraordinary people. David F. Day, Frederick Law Olmsted, John F. Cowell, Frederick A. Lord and William A. Burnham of Lord & Burnham Co.. Each of these talented individuals contributed to the inception, design and success of the South Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens.
In the 1860s, David F. Day, a Buffalo city attorney and judge, and later Parks Commissioner, was instrumental in including botanical collections in the City of Buffalo and continued to support a south park conservatory project with great enthusiasm.
Distinguished for his creativity in designing New York City’s Central Park and Brooklyn’s Prospect Park, Frederick Law Olmsted was called upon by the Buffalo Parks Commission in 1868 to design parks for Buffalo. His unique design included not one but three parks, The Park (Delaware Park), The Parade (Martin Luther King Jr. Park), The Front Park, connecting parkways and circles. As Buffalo expanded, Olmsted was called upon to enlarge the park system by adding additional parks including Cazenovia Park and South Park. South Park was constructed between the years of 1894-1900 from 156 acres of farmland.
Olmsted’s final design of South Park included a conservatory and surrounding formal gardens. In 1894, Professor John F. Cowell was appointed as the first Director of the conservatory and to oversee plantings in South Park. He was considered a genius in botany and horticulture and his passion was deep rooted in his mission to expand and diversify the soon to be park and conservatory’s collections. He gathered plants, trees and flowers from every corner of the world and his expertise and guidance allowed for many successful years for the conservatory.
While South Park was being constructed, Lord & Burnham Co. was busy designing the South Park Conservatory. The design was modeled after the beautiful Crystal Palace in England and was built by a Buffalo construction company, George P. Wurtz & Son for a total cost of $130,000. Upon opening in 1900, the conservatory was the third largest public greenhouse in the United States and was ranked as the ninth largest in the world.
The 1901 Pan-American Exposition in Buffalo helped to spur the success of the South Park Conservatory by providing trolley rides from downtown Buffalo to the conservatory. Tens of thousands of people visited the breathtaking conservatory and delighted in the exotic collection of plants and flowers.
Find out more at buffalogardens.com![post_slug] => buffalo-erie-county-botanical-gardens-3 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Buffalo Central Terminal, built by the New York Central Railroad and designed by architects Alfred T. Fellheimer & Steward Wagner, opened to the public on June 22, 1929. At one time, this Triple-Designated Historic Art Deco station accommodated 3200+ passengers/hour and 200+ trains/day. The complex consists of the Grand Concourse measuring 450’ long, 60’ wide with 60’ vaulted Gustavino tile ceilings, 17-story office tower and the five story baggage building along Curtiss Street. The complex sits on a 18-acre site just east of downtown Buffalo and appears as a bookend to Buffalo’s Art Deco City Hall. The Central Terminal Restoration Corporation (CTRC) was founded in 1997 to oversee the stabilization and restoration of the Central Terminal when Scott Field acquired the site from Samuel Tuchman and B.C.T, Inc. for $1 plus the assumption of back taxes owed to the City of Buffalo. The Buffalo Central Terminal reopened to the public in 2003 with a series of tours and open houses. Since then the tours continue, as well as a number of other events throughout the summer and fall. The Terminal is now undergoing major renovations but will continue with its well-attended events and has adapted the tours to a “Hard Hat” view of the historic renovations.[post_slug] => buffalo-central-terminal [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
From the architects George J. Dietel and John J. Wade, Buffalo City Hall was built between 1929-1931. Buffalo City Hall is an Art Deco masterpiece with outstanding murals depicting the city’s history and industry. Common Council Chamber with exquisite skylight and sculptures are a must see. Observation Tower gives a spectacular view of the waterfront and the Ellicott radial street design for Buffalo. Closed weekends and holidays.[post_slug] => buffalo-city-hall [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
To see “Windows on Buffalo”, take an elevator to the 25th floor and walk up 3 flights for a spectacular view of the Queen City! Dedicated in 1932, City Hall is an Art Deco masterpiece with outstanding murals in the grand lobby. Also see the magnificent skylight in the Common Council Chambers on the 13th floor.[post_slug] => buffalo-city-hall-observation-deck [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
This National Historic Landmark building was built in 1901 during the Pan-American Exposition, and now houses The Buffalo History Museum (renamed in 2012). Research library includes a repository of genealogical information; the museum features exhibits and an extensive collection of artifacts, manuscripts, books and photographs chronicling the development of Buffalo and the Niagara Frontier.[post_slug] => the-buffalo-history-museum [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Burchfield-Penney Art Center is a museum dedicated to the art and culture of Western New York, including the world’s largest collection of works by Charles E. Burchfield. Exhibitions and programs include art and design from the Buffalo Niagara region, historic and contemporary.[post_slug] => burchfield-penney-art-center-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Art Nouveau architecture designed by Esenwein & Johnson and completed in 1906.[post_slug] => calumet-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
This is one of Buffalo’s finest Delaware Ave. addresses. Constructed in 1929 just before the stock market crash and the Great Depression, the building was designed by B. Frank Kelly, a Canadian architect who came to the States in 1921 and opened his practice in Buffalo’s Ellicott Square building.
His massive building is stately – but not static. Richly dressed in a structural polychrome of brick, limestone, and terra cotta, it is intricately detailed with Italian Renaissance Revival architectural elements. Its roofline is colorfully punctuated with tall caps of red tile rooftops.
The building’s original pre-construction sales brochure, published in 1928, advertised a “sound-proof, fire-proof building of co-operatively owned homes,” hailing co-operatlively home ownership as “the most satisfactory solution of the metropolitan living problem.”
Although co-ops are extremely popular in Manhattan, there are only three in the greater Buffalo area. In a cooperative, each owner holds stock or shares in the corporation that owns and manages an entire building. Vested with shares, the owner then engages in a long-term proprietary lease with exclusive rights to use an individual unit. This differs from condominium fee-simple ownership, where an Association owns all of the common elements and the individual owners typically own their unit and its contents.[post_slug] => campanile [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Erected in 1914 by Architects Green & Wicks at a cost of $300,000, the home was the scene of many important social functions and the gathering place of leaders in the city’s life for 30 years. It was built on the lot of three previous homes. Originally home to Carolyn Jewett Clement until 1941, when she donated her home to the American Red Cross who still occupy the home.[post_slug] => clement-mansion [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built in 1888 by Architects, Cyrus K Porter & Son. This unique building originally opened to showcase a large painting, “The Crucifixion of Christ” to over 1,000 visitors daily from 1888-1890 followed by another exhibit, “The Battle of Gettysburg”. Followed by many different uses and most known as the Grosvenor Library from 1942-1963 followed by office use as it is today.[post_slug] => cyclorama-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Buffalo’s first high-rise was named for the R. G. Dun Company, which later became Dun and Bradstreet. At 10 stories, it is a fine local example of 1890’s Beaux-Arts and Renaissance Styling.[post_slug] => dun-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
One of the most recognizable buildings in the Buffalo skyline, the Electric Tower was originally opened in 1912. It was designed in the Beaux Arts style by local architects Esenwien & Johnson and was patterned after the Tower of Light from the 1901 Pan American Exposition. This building’s historical significance however, runs much deeper than its architecture.[post_slug] => electric-tower [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
From architect Daniel Burnham with Charles Atwood, construction began in 1895. Upon completion in 1896, the Ellicott Square Building was considered the largest office building in the world. Its glass-covered concourse is one of Buffalo’s most ornamental public spaces.[post_slug] => ellicott-square-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Frank Lloyd Wright’s Filling Station was completed posthumously in 2014. Designed in the 1920s, the filling station was planned for a Buffalo oil company, but was never built. Today it stands as an exhibit in the recently expanded Buffalo Transportation Pierce-Arrow Museum at Michigan Avenue and Seneca Street in downtown Buffalo.
The two-story, 1,600-square-foot filling station is built to Wright’s specifications and topped with authentic Tydol Oil signs. The station features a second story observation room with a fireplace, restrooms, an extensive copper roof, two 45-foot poles that Wright called “totems,” red and white painted concrete, and overhead gravity fed tanks. Wright referred to this design as “an ornament to the pavement.”
The Filling Station beautifully complements the Buffalo Transportation Pierce-Arrow Museum’s mission of focusing on the impact of the automobile on modern America and is an unexpected and popular discovery for visitors, especially those unfamiliar with Wright’s Buffalo legacy. It joins two other Wright-designed structures completed posthumously after 2000—the Fontana Rowing Boathouse and Blue Sky Mausoleum. For Wright enthusiasts, these structures are the newest must-see treasures of a legendary American icon.[post_slug] => frank-lloyd-wright-filling-station [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
In 1910, at the age of 43, Frank Lloyd Wright traveled to Europe to present what would become his most beloved collection of structure illustrations: the Wasmuth Portfolio. One of these famous drawings was something Wright called “Boathouse for the University of Wisconsin Boat Club.” Twenty years later, the architect included this same boathouse in an international exhibition of six of his greatest works. The boathouse idea was obviously a favorite of Wright’s, featuring design elements seen in other local treasures like the Martin House and the Larkin Building – large vertical piers supporting horizontal planes. Sadly, it was never constructed. It was one of Frank Lloyd Wright’s most significant projects that had never come to fruition – until now. Completed in 2007, the Rowing Boathouse is open to the public for tours and available for rent for special events and meetings.[post_slug] => frank-lloyd-wrights-fontana-boathouse [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Constructed between 1903 and 1905 as the home of Darwin and Isabelle Martin, the Martin House exemplifies Frank Lloyd Wright’s “Prairie House” ideal and ranks as one of his finest residential works. Tours at the Martin House underscore how Frank Lloyd Wright’s architectural genius is illustrated in timeless themes evident in his remarkable design: family, friendship, the meaning of home, and the American spirit as told through the story of Darwin D. Martin’s patronage of America’s greatest architect.[post_slug] => frank-lloyd-wrights-martin-house-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed by noted local architects E.B. Green and William S. Wicks, the 15-story Genesee Building in the French Renaissance style was opened as an office building in 1923 and quickly became known for its distinctive green copper roof. However, the building had fallen into disrepair by the 1980’s when Hyatt hotels decided to restore the building and extend it. A new 11-story tower was built next to the Genesee Building and is a natural extension, following the strong line of the Genesee Building’s 11th floor that begins the Renaissance design of the top four floors. The majestic marble doorway of the old building has been refurbished and serves as the entrance to the contemporary green glass atrium.[post_slug] => genesee-buildinghyatt-hotel [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
From architects Louis Sullivan and Dankmar Adler, the Guaranty Building was built between 1895-1896. Louis Sullivan’s most mature skyscraper, its terra cotta facade and clean vertical lines are nothing short of breathtaking.
In 2017, Hodgson Russ completed a project to celebrate the rich history of the Guaranty Building and dedicated it as a gift to the community. This museum-quality Guaranty Interpretative Center provides clients, guests from around the world, and architectural scholars and devotees the background on the iconic structure and its place in modern architecture.
Open during regular business hours or tour by appointment with Preservation Buffalo Niagara. They can be reached at (716) 852-3300.[post_slug] => guaranty-building-interpretive-center [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
A handsome red brick and white terra cotta French Renaissance-style building, the Hotel Lafayette was designed principally by Louise Blanchard Bethune of the respected Buffalo architectural firm of Bethune, Bethune and Fuchs in 1904. She was the first professional woman architect in the country, the first female member of the American Institute of of Architects, and the first woman to be made a Fellow of the A.I.A.
With hot and cold water in all bathrooms, and telephones in all rooms, the seven-story hotel offered “the best that science, art and experience can offer for the comfort of the traveling public.” Four years later, an addition doubled the size of the hotel, and fifty years later it was still operating as a luxury 400 room hotel, run by three generations of the Duffy family’s ownership. In recent years, out-of-town owners allowed the building to decline.
Developer Rocco Termini saved this historical landmark, and recently completed a total restoration. The Lafayette’s opulent interior once again features a splendid crystal chandelier-hung ballroom, leaded-glass skylights, marble columns, mahogany coatrooms, and a handsome oak-paneled men’s bar and dining room – all restored to their original grandeur.[post_slug] => hotel-the-lafayette-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Distinctive c. 1810 Federal-style house is Erie County’s oldest home, currently under restoration as a living history experience interpreting WNY’s pre-Erie Canal frontier settlement and family life. Open for special events and published dates – schedule at www.hullfamilyhome.org. Groups by appointment – 716-681-6451.[post_slug] => hull-family-home-farmstead [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built in 1990, Key Center at Fountain Plaza is a twin tower complex located on the half-block surrounding Main Street, Pearl & Chippewa St. The towers are 17 and 13 stories high, the lobby contains thermal granite, light marble and brick paving. A two-story glass atrium is the focal point of the arcade.
During the winter, Rotary Rink is open for ice skating and free for the public. In the summer, the plaza is a nice relaxing area to enjoy the downtown scenery.
Designed by architects Eliel & Eero Saarinen between 1938-1940, this home of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra is internationally-acclaimed for its acoustical excellence, graceful curving lines and detailed interior spaces.[post_slug] => kleinhans-music-hall-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built for the family of Seymour H. Knox, owner and founder of “S.H. Knox Co.” 5 and 10 Cent Stores and later Vice President of the Woolworth Co. and Chairman of the Board of the Marine Trust Co. He had his grand home constructed 1915 and was completed three years later at a cost of $600,000 by Charles Pierrepont H. Gilbert, a prominent architect of many houses on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. The property extending west to Richmond Ave. The original house included 25 rooms, excluding kitchens, pantries, bathrooms, maintenance quarters, and cloakrooms. Remodeled in 1969 for office use and altered since (inside.)[post_slug] => knox-mansion [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church is a historic Presbyterian church complex located at 875 Elmwood Ave, Buffalo in Erie County, New York. The complex consists of the large cruciform-plan church building that was built in 1894 with an attached rear chapel. Adjoining them is the Community House that constructed of brick in the Tudor Revival style, that was built in 1921. The main church building is constructed of Medina sandstone with a terra cotta tile roof in the Romanesque Revival style. It features a 120-foot-tall, square bell tower with a pyramidal roof.[post_slug] => lafayette-lofts-in-elmwood-village [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Lafayette Square (formerly Court House Park or Courthouse Square) is a park in the center of downtown Buffalo, Erie County, New York, United States that hosts a Civil War monument. The block, which was once square, is lined by many of the city’s tallest buildings. The square was named for General Lafayette, who visited Buffalo in 1825.
The square was part of the original urban plan for the city as laid out by Joseph Ellicott in 1804. Its eastern edge has long been defined by important civic structures; first, the Erie County Courthouse, followed by the original Buffalo & Erie County Public Library. Presidential history was made in Lafayette Square when former United States President Martin Van Buren received the Free Soil Party nomination for the 1848 election. President-elect Abraham Lincoln also spoke at the square.
Today, the square offers a clear view of Buffalo City Hall, an Art Deco building three blocks to the west. A granite Civil War monument, titled Soldiers and Sailors, gives a strong vertical and ceremonial definition to the space. Conceived by Mrs. Horatio Seymour, the monument’s dedication ceremony was attended by Grover Cleveland and other prominent figures[post_slug] => lafayette-square [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built in 1925, the 23 story office tower is a rare example of Neoclassical architecture. At the time of its completion, the Liberty Building was the largest office building in downtown Buffalo and was built for Liberty Bank to serve as their headquarters. The Liberty Bank was originally called the German American Bank but its name was changed to the Liberty Bank after WWI to remove any connection to that war’s main enemy. In order to illustrate the bank’s new image, the building was christened with three replicas of the Statue of Liberty sculpted by Leo Lentelli in 1925. Two statues on the roof; one facing west, and the other facing east, representing Buffalo’s strategic location on the Great Lakes. A third statue was placed over the Main Street entrance. Only the rooftop statues remain today. They stand 36 feet tall and are illuminated at night.[post_slug] => liberty-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built between 1900-1901, Buffalo Savings Bank was the vision of architect E. B. Green with William Sydney Wicks. A prime example of the neoclassicism inspired by the World’s Columbian Exposition held in Chicago in 1893.[post_slug] => mt-bank [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built between 1964-1966 by Minoru Yamasaki, the architect who designed New York’s World Trade Center.[post_slug] => mt-bank-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Buffalo Niagara’s first and only AAA rated Four Diamond hotel. The Mansion on Delaware Avenue services and amenities set the standard for luxury in downtown Buffalo. This George Allison’s Second Empire Structure offers 28 guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown Buffalo.
This luxury hotel combines old world charm with contemporary sophistication complete with Butler Service. Overnight accommodations include European Style continental breakfast, Butler Driven Range Rover transportation within a 3-mile radius, valet parking and happy hour cocktail.
The versatile meeting and event space of the Grand Salon and Boardroom can accommodate from 10-200 guests for a stationed affair and 168 for a sit down event. Please inquire about our exclusive “Whole Hotel Event.”[post_slug] => mansion-on-delaware-avenue [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Market Arcade built in 1892 by E.B. Green & W.S. Wicks, modeled after London’s Burlington Arcade. It serves as a collection of indoor shops and office space and is the best surviving example of such a retail complex within the city. The Market Arcade re-opened in 1995 after a $10 million renovation featuring terra cotta, Corinthian columns and elaborate ornamentation. It is a stunning example of architecture in Downtown Buffalo. Today it features a number of local independently owned retailers, a gym, a barber shop, art galleries, food hall and more.[post_slug] => market-arcade [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Niagara Square is a public square located at the intersections of Delaware Avenue, Court Street, Genesee Street, and Niagara Street in Buffalo, New York. It is the central hub of Joseph Ellicott’s original radial street pattern that he designed in 1804 for the then village of New Amsterdam. It continues to be the nexus of downtown Buffalo.
Its origins date back to the conclusion of the French and Indian War in 1763, which ended French domination of the Niagara Frontier and marked the advent of permanent settlement of the area. This trend increased after the Revolution, and in 1804 Joseph Ellicott (1760–1826) mapped a town on the banks of Lake Erie at the mouth of the Buffalo Creek. The site of the city was part of the vast land holdings of the Holland Land Company, a Dutch firm that had purchased most of western New York. Ellicott, who was the local Holland Land Company agent, had earlier in his career helped his brother Andrew survey Pierre L’Enfant’s plan for the new capital at Washington.
Within the center of the modern square is a large monument commemorating the assassination of President McKinley, who was assassinated in Buffalo during the Pan-American Exposition of 1901.[post_slug] => niagara-square [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The North Park Theatre is a historical single screen movie theatre in Buffalo, New York. It has functioned as a cinema since it opened in 1920.
Originally called Shea’s North Park, the theatre, along with Shea’s Performing Arts Center, serves as a remnant of the now defunct Shea’s theatre chain, once owned by early twentieth century businessman Michael Shea. Its design by Henry Spann was influenced by the neoclassical movement. The auditorium features a proscenium above the screen and a 5-paneled recessed dome arched into the ceiling, both decorated with murals by Raphael Beck.
Still used as a movie theater and entertainment venue today.[post_slug] => north-park-theatre [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed in 1876 by architect Andrew J. Warner, Old County Hall is an important example of the High Victorian Gothic, the preeminent style of the Gilded Age.[post_slug] => old-county-hall [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Rand Building is the third tallest building in Buffalo, New York. At the time it was built in 1929, it was the tallest in the city at a height of 391 feet. Built on the site of the 1903 Olympic Theatre, it has been suggested that the Rand Building was the inspiration for the Empire State Building.
The building is named for George Rand, a prominent Buffalo financier in the 1920s. Rand helped launch radio in Buffalo when he financed WGR in 1922; today, the stations in the Regent Communications cluster (WJYE, WBLK, and WYRK) broadcast from studios in the Rand Building and have their transmitting antennas located atop its beacon.[post_slug] => rand-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
One of Buffalo’s most iconic buildings and a National Historic Landmark, the 140-year-old Richardson Olmsted Campus, has been renewed after years of neglect. Designed by one of America’s premier architects, Henry Hobson Richardson, in concert with the famed landscape team of Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux, the building was completed in the late 1800s as the Buffalo State Asylum for the Insane.
It incorporated a system of enlightened treatment for people with mental illness developed by Dr. Thomas Story Kirkbride, in part by providing pleasing surroundings. Over the years, as mental health treatment changed and resources were diverted, the buildings and grounds began a slow deterioration.
In 2006, the Richardson Center Corporation was formed with a mandate to save the buildings and bring the Campus back to life through a State appropriation for this architectural treasure.
Today, the Richardson Olmsted Campus has been transformed into a cultural amenity for the city, beginning with Hotel Henry Urban Resort and Conference Center and the Buffalo Architecture Center in the iconic Towers Building and two flanking buildings (about one third of the Campus). The remaining buildings have been stabilized pending future opportunities.
Tours of the campus are offered, and can be booked through our website.[post_slug] => richardson-olmsted-campus [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Elegantly restored Arts & Crafts accommodations featuring original Roycroft furnishings and art work. Built in 1895. Also serves as a fine dining restaurant and offers exquisite accommodations and banquet facilities.
They offer jazz music in their bar/lounge weekly.[post_slug] => roycroft-inn [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built in 1926 in the style of a European opera house, and one of only four Tiffany-designed theaters still in existence, Shea’s Performing Arts Center continues to entertain audiences today with touring Broadway musicals, concerts, dance programs, historic theatre tours, a Free Family Film Series, educational programs, and family shows.
Since opening its doors, there have been many great performers that have graced the stage at Shea’s including George Burns, Frank Sinatra, The Marx Brothers, and Bing Crosby, among others. The theatre also features the Western New York Entertainment Hall of Fame with inductees Lucille O’Ball, Buffalo Bob, and Christine Baranski, among others, whose portraits grace the Petit Lobby.[post_slug] => sheas-performing-arts-center-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Sits on the busy corner of Main at Goodell St. Erected in 1907 with a two story addition in 1913 by architects, McCreary, Wood & Bradney in the Beaux Arts Classical Revival style. Originally used as a office building and currently houses luxury loft apartments.[post_slug] => sidway-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed by Richard Upjohn, the architect of New York City’s Trinity Church, St. Paul’s Cathedral was built in 1849 with the tower being completed in 1871. The inspiration for this Gothic Revival cathedral was drawn from 13th century churches of rural England. The interior, rebuilt by Robert W. Gibson in 1888 after a disastrous fire, has a magnificent hammer-beam roof. Above the altar in the chapel to the left of the nave is a stunning window by Tiffany Studios, “Christ on the Way to Emmaus.”[post_slug] => st-pauls-episcopal-cathedral-church-2 [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Completed in 1873 and originally known as the Dennis Building, the Stanton Building is located in what was once known as the Commerce and Finance Corridor in Buffalo’s early years. The facade of this edifice is entirely cast-iron, a revolutionary 19th-century building material, and is the only surviving example of the many such buildings that existed in Buffalo.[post_slug] => stanton-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
For most of last century, Buffalo’s Statler was the first name in hospitality between New York and Chicago. The crown jewel of Ellsworth Statler’s empire, The Statler hosted Hollywood legends, world leaders and the events of Western New York’s finest families.Today, Statler City brings back the grandeur of the building with a daily commitment to making every experience exceptional. Statler City offers event menus for any style event, state-of-the-art communications and climate support and service that would make Ellsworth Statler proud. The experienced event staff stands ready to match your needs.[post_slug] => statler-city [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built in 1896 to accommodate the guests expected at the Pan-American Exposition, the five-and-one-half storey Queen Anne structure topped by a Mansard roof sported a fifth floor restaurant, and a roof-garden from which to watch the sun setting over Days Park. In the roof, gabled and shed dormers alternate behind a faux balustrade. Currently houses apartments.[post_slug] => the-buckingham [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
This elegant row of a dozen luxury townhouses constitutes the most urbane streetscape in Buffalo. Such dwellings are unique in this city, where free-standing houses have always been affordable. Though each house is of different design, all present the appearance of a unified composition through similarities in height, width and compatibility of materials, a goal that was achieved through the common consent of the clients and their architects, George Cary, Green & Wicks, Marling & Johnson, Lansing & Beirl, 1892-1896.[post_slug] => the-midway [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Originally built in 1833 as the First Unitarian Church, the structure is the oldest standing building in downtown Buffalo. President-elect Lincoln and former President Millard Fillmore worshipped at the church on Sunday, February 17, 1861. According to local legend, on that trip through Western New York, Lincoln stopped in Westfield, NY, where he was told by a little girl that he should grow a beard to look more distinguished. Beginning in in 1886, the Tictor Title Building housed title companies that researched abstracts for property in Erie County. Current home to Erie County offices.[post_slug] => tictor-title-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The Twentieth Century Club, founded in 1894, was the first club run by women, for women, in the United States. This building was completed in 1896 by architects Green & Wicks in the Italian Renaissance Revival.[post_slug] => twentieth-century-club [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Opened in November of 2011. The design of Buffalo’s new federal courthouse expresses the dignity and the transparency of the federal judicial system while accommodating courtroom and office space to meet the needs of the U.S. District Court and court-related agencies in Buffalo.
The courthouse is dramatically situated on a 1 3/4 acre site in the northwest corner of Niagara Square in the downtown civic center of the city and helps complete Niagara Square. The curved south wall, oriented towards the Square, encloses the public lobbies while its transparency reveals the activity within. A veil of glass panels suspended in front of the pre-cast skin of the ellipse reinforces the inherent grace of the shape with an expression of lightness, while the 255 foot elevator tower topped with a glowing lantern firmly anchors the structure to the site and marks the urban context at both ground and sky. A glass pavilion creates a courtyard interlocked with the tower form. All 4,536 words of the United States Constitution are etched on the glass facade of the pavilion, casting a silhouette upon all who enter into the building.[post_slug] => u-s-courthouse [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and constructed in 1908 (Private residence and is not open for tours). The Walter V. Davidson house, 57 Tillinghast Place, is secluded on a residential street amid trees and foliage. But even without a guidebook, a visitor knows this is another splendid Wright creation, though it reflects a relatively modest budget. Wright seems to have traded the richness that characterizes the Martin house for space and light.
The two story stucco house carries many prairie-style features, including a broad, flat chimney over a low-pitched, hipped roof, and wide soffits under projecting eaves that shelter clear leaded glass windows. The secluded main entrance at the front of the house was typical Wright, as was the low entry way.
From there, one enters a two-story living room with cathedral ceiling and a wall of diamond-shaped leaded glass windows rising from low cabinets to the ceiling. This is one of Wright’s “Tall Living Room” homes where the art glass windows are 1 1/2 stories high. The effect is spectacular.
The living room was directed to the side of the house, giving a view of the surrounding woods, although when a home was built on the lot next door quite close to the lot line, the view was lost.
To the west of the living room, the house divides into two stories that are in turn divided into multiple floor levels. According to Buffalo Architecture: A Guide, “Spatial grandeur is cleverly played off against intimacy, while even the smallest of spaces is opened up through Wright’s use of banded window sequences.”[post_slug] => walter-v-davidson-house-frank-lloyd-wright [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and constructed between 1903-1905 (Not for tours-private residence). This is the first residential commission Wright received in Buffalo, this large red brick Prairie style house is situated on a long narrow lot, a precursor to the architect’s famous Robie House in Chicago. Despite being located along the sidewalk, privacy is enhanced by the elevation of the main floor, a low key entrance beside the massive chimmy, and a broad porch accessible only from the house.[post_slug] => william-r-heath-house-frank-lloyd-wright [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
This imposing half-timber dwelling was the home of William Sydney Wicks (1854-1919), partner of Edward B. Green (1855-1950) in the firm of Green and Wicks, Buffalo’s foremost architectural office at the turn of the century. The firm was in business from 1880-1917 when Wicks retired.
Wicks, who was born in Oneida Country in central New York in 1854, trained at MIT and Cornell, where he later designed several campus buildings. In 1881 he went into partnership with Green at Auburn, New York; two years later they both moved to Buffalo, where the firm endured until 1917 when Wicks retired.
In Buffalo, Wicks served as park commissioner from 1897 to 1900 and did much to promote the Parkside community, where he lived for thirty years.[post_slug] => william-sydney-wicks-house [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
From architects McKim, Mead & White, the Williams-Butler House was built between 1895-1898. A truly stunning, palatial residence on Buffalo’s “Millionaire’s Row.” Now the Jacobs Executive Development Center of the University at Buffalo.[post_slug] => williams-butler-house [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
Built by architects McKim, Mead & White. An opulent, yet dignified mansion from Buffalo’s Golden Age.[post_slug] => williams-pratt-house [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
The former YMCA building in Buffalo is architecturally and historically significant for its skillful and innovative siting and design by one of Buffalo’s most prominent turn of the century architectural firms. The building was commissioned in 1901 as a new facility for the second oldest YMCA chapter in the US. In designing the English-Flemish Renaissance style building, Green and Wicks took advantage of the broad property on one of the radiating avenues just off of Niagara Square, and sited the building to dominate the triangular intersection.
The 10 story tower further distinguished the YMCA as one of the first tall buildings to be built in downtown Buffalo. Green and Wicks were also sensitive to the philosophy of the YMCA movement and incorporated several features into the building in order to encourage single young men to adopt the conservative lifestyle promoted by the association. The Buffalo YMCA was among the first to provide extensive accommodations for lodgers and was the very first two include a spa, features that later became standard in YMCA buildings around the country.[post_slug] => ymca-building [show_infowindow] => 1 [html] =>
800 Delaware Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
1285 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
33 Symphony Circle
Buffalo, NY 14201
1411 Delaware Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14209
403 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14203
2655 South Park Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14218
495 Paderewski Drive
Buffalo, NY 14212
65 Niagara Square
Buffalo, NY 14202
65 Niagara Square
Buffalo, NY 14202
One Museum Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
1300 Elmwood Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14222
46-58 W.Chippewa Street
Buffalo, NY 14203